Life, Love, and my Dad’s Birthday

Today my dad turned 81. I just saw him a few weeks ago in Paris, after 2.5 years away from home. It’s a long time, and I’m thankful that he is still around. That’s probably thanks to his healthy diet based on cheese, chocolate, and ice-cream.

Anyhow, recently, my good friend Brian lost his mom. The day of his birthday. Although I have never had the chance to meet her, I felt very sad that day. Sad for Brian and his family. Sad because it reminds you that we are all going to lose people we love, people we care for. I hope the local delis don’t run out of cheese, chocolate, and ice-cream, so that I can go visit my dad (and my mom!) many more years. I am quite certain I will. But it also reminds me that I don’t say to my dad that I love him anywhere near enough (even when I hear the same WWII story for the millionth time!)

So, Dad, I love you. Thank you for having been here for me (for us) all these years! And Mom, yes, I love you too, but it’s not your birthday yet ๐Ÿ™‚

PS: Dad, please do not use this post as an excuse to tell me one more time how your aunt used to cut apples and put chocolate in them ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Life, Love, and my Dad’s Birthday

Leave a Reply

