A running experiment

During the winter (I can already hear the Canucks, PacNWers, etc laughing about our Southwestern winters), it can get a tad difficult to head out on the bike. It’s cold(ish), it’s often windy, it takes 53 minutes to get ready, and because you’re wearing 3 layers of gloves, you can’t update your facebook status while riding, so no one knows that you’ve been riding for just 20min but stopped at the Bean for a coffee and a 400kcal muffin nonetheless. Not fun. Swimming isn’t fun either. 25yd indoor pool? Come on now! How about 50m outdoor (and heated)? So, what’s left is…running.

I was looking for something stupid to do for the end of the year, and it suddenly came to my mind. I’m going to see how many 200km back to back running weeks I can do without getting injured. For you, unit-challenged people, that’s 124mi. Sounds stupid enough. On a side note, I have also this twisted fantasy of mine that this may make me a better runner. Oh, and I actually enjoy running. It’s liberating, and it’s a great way to meditate.

What is the plan exactly? Well, the plan is rather simple. Run. A lot. Every day. But since good runners are those with excellent running economy, I figured I’d add a bit of work to improve running form. Hill bounding and hill repeats. But no track, no tempo work, none of that stuff, although I will most likely include some 30-30 work here and there. So, here it goes:

  • Monday: easy am run, hill repeats in the evening. (25km total)
  • Tuesday: long run in the morning, easy jog in the evening. (35km total)
  • Wednesday: easy am run, hill bounding in the evening. (20km total)
  • Thursday: easy am run, hill repeats in the evening. (25km total)
  • Friday: easy am run, easy evening run. (25km total)
  • Saturday: long run in the morning, easy jog in the evening (40km total)
  • Sunday: easy am run, hill bounding in the evening. (30km total)

Wow, now that I look at it, it really sounds stupid. Awesome. Stupid is my credo. All that to say that if you have a little bit more sanity than me, which isn’t hard arguably, you can use the general idea outlined above to work on your running, and running form during the colder months. In the meantime, I’m going to head out for another long run. And hopefully, I will be in excellent running shape comes the racing season. If not, I’ll be injured, and will be blogging more stupid ideas.

PS: Do not forget to sign the waiver before attempting this plan. 

 

Leave a Reply

